10 Core Strategy Principles…

Dave Wakeman
4 min readFeb 8, 2022
Photo by Kaleidico on Unsplash

I was reading a piece on having a “marketing philosophy” a while back and then read another piece on having a shared language to discuss strategy.

This got me to thinking about the idea of having a philosophy or a set of principles around the areas I work in with my clients, beginning with strategy. Since that is the foundation of the work that I do.

To me, I use the definition of pricinple as a foundational idea or building block of my philosophy of strategy.

Here are the 10 Principles that guide my strategy work.

  1. Ambition Makes Your Strategy: To me, this is the starting spot of a good strategy because you must set in intention, a destination, or, in my language, an ambition for your organization. In strategy, it is important that you know where you are going and what this success will look like.
  2. Building a simple, shared language: Like a lot of folks, I hate the buzzword bingo at the heart of my corporate and cultural conversation. Too much of it is meaningless, useless, and used as a tool to hide lack of working knowledge. In my strategy work, we try to create a simple, shared language as a backbone of our strategy work: ambition, market focus, value, resources, and actions are the building blocks of our strategies.
  3. A focus on impact over activity: You can be busy…

--

--